Lamb & Hayward Masterworks

Triumph Over Tragedy

Samuel Barber Overture to The School for Scandal — Leonie Holmes Piano Concerto (premiere) — Dmitri Shostakovich Symphony No. 10

Stephen De Pledge Piano
James Judd Conductor

The final concert of the Lamb & Hayward Masterworks Series opens with Samuel Barber's glittering Overture to The School for Scandal. Best known for his Adagio for Strings, this early work is a bright and lively overture filled with charm and lyricism.

The CSO is delighted to be premiering a new concerto by the renowned composer Leonie Holmes, written for pianist Stephen De Pledge. Widely considered to be one of New Zealand's most respected musicians, Stephen is highly regarded for his sensitive and imaginative performances.

Considered to be one of the greatest symphonies of all time, Shostakovich's tenth is a masterpiece in symphonic writing. Demonstrating his remarkable skill at evoking mood and emotion through sensitive and ingenious use of the instruments of the orchestra, this symphony takes the audience on an epic musical journey concluding with a thrilling finale, a powerful statement of our ability to triumph over adversity.

What's Next

View all