Lamb & Hayward Curator's Series

The Devil and the Angel

Christoph Gluck Overture to Orfeo ed Euridice Osvaldo Golijov Last Round — Ross Harris Fanitullen (written for the 2007 Michael Hill International Violin Competition) — Luigi Boccherini Symphony No. 6

Andrew Crooks Conductor

Martin Riseley Violin

Ross Harris' Fanitullen was partly inspired by Scandinavian folk-fiddle playing and Stravinsky's Soldier's Tale. It is said that 'fanitullen' (the devil's tune) was first played by the devil himself who appeared, hooves and all, at a village dance. he grabbed the fiddle and began playing a tune so wonderful that the gathered people continued dancing until they died from exhaustion.

Considered one of the greatest classical composers of his time, Boccherini was also an extraordinary cellist. His sixth symphony ("La casa del diavolo" or "House of the devil") demonstrates his masterful understanding of string writing with flourishes of devilish fury throughout.

Composer Osvaldo Golijov grew up surrounded by the music of the legendary Argentinian composer Astor Piazolla. Sharing Piazolla's passion for tango, Last Round is a posthumous tribute to the tango king.

What's Next

View all

Subscribe to our newsletter