Lamb & Hayward Masterworks

Crouching Tiger

Eve De Castro-Robinson Len Dances — Tan Dun Crouching Tiger Concerto for cello and orchestra — Claude Debussy La mer

Ashley Brown Cello — Kenneth Young Conductor

Based on his Oscar-winning score for Ang Lee's film, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Tan Dun's Crouching Tiger Concerto was originally written for and premiered by Yo-Yo Ma. The concerto continues Tan's exploration of the meeting of cultures of East and WEst and conjures exotic landscapes brought to life by NZ Trio's captivating cellist, Ashley Brown. To hear the performance of the full Crouching Tiger Concerto, please click here.

Debussy held vivid memories of his childhood summers beside the sea. His fascination with light on the water and the play of the wind and waves are skillfully captured in his enchanting orchestral seascape, La mer.

Eve de Castro-Robinson's Len Dances are a colourful and quirky tribute to New Zealand artist and kinetic sculptor, Len Lye.

What's Next

View all