Lamb & Hayward Curator's Series

Appalachian Dream

Benjamin Northey – Chief Conductor

Thomas Eves – Trumpet

Salina Fisher – Dream 6

Hummel – Trumpet Concerto

Salina Fisher – Kingfisher

Copland – Appalachian Spring

Ōtautahi Christchurch-born composer Salina Fisher’s early career has brimmed with awards and commissions. Two of her colourful and gestural works feature here: Dream 6, based on material from Douglas Lilburn’s Nine Short Pieces for Piano, and Kingfisher, inspired by the poem of the same name by Robert Macfarlane.

Hummel was a pupil of Haydn, eventually succeeding his teacher in the Court of Prince Esterházy. He wrote his Trumpet Concerto for Anton Weidinger, virtuoso of the freshly-minted keyed trumpet. Our very own Principal Trumpet Thomas Eves will present this sparkling tour de force.

Aaron Copland was committed to finding a distinctive American musical voice, and has an immediately endearing melodic style. Appalachian Spring began as music for his friend Martha Graham’s ballet troupe in 1944, with the recognisable Shaker tune “Simple Gifts.” Decades later he turned it into the 13-piece chamber version that features here.